I'M new to SQL and I'M reading the book "Simply SQL". I'M running Ubuntu Linux and I downloaded MySQL Workbench. I also downloaded the source .sql files for the book. I need some help getting started. How do I get the files into Workbench so I can follow along with the book? There are a lot of options upon start up. New Connection, Create New EER, Create EER Model form Existing Database, New Server Instance, etc. Thanks for any and all replies.

Hello Garrett85

Congratulations that you started to learn SQL from this great book Simply SQL written by my friend Rudy Limeback! This is the finest book for beginners I ever read. Clearly and precisely written, covering all important aspects of (DML-) SQL, contains a wealth of useful examples and tips, thoroughly founded on Rudys comprehensive experiences on database field.

Yes, it is "The fun and easy way to learn best-practice SQL".

I am sure that Rudy will add a small chapter on DDL-SQL to the next edition, the only very little SQL-part I am really missing from his wonderful book.

As for MySQL workbench you have already downloaded, assuming you have installed Ubuntu 10.04 (lucid) then workbench version must be 5.1.xx which does not have integrated Query SQL broswer to execute simple SQL statement like SELECT * FROM ... nor it has mysql administration functionality. However, it is possible to build version 5.2, which contains query and admin, from the sources. I have tested 5.2 new functionalities and in my opinion it is still in a very beta state. Of course, it is a good tool for designing kind of entity relationship models (ERM, not EER), much more better than its old error-prone predecessor (V4.2) from source-forge.

However, the most important thing is, you need to install a standard SQL database first, if you don't have already done this job. So what database for beginners?