Hello Everyone,

Specifications:-

Yahoo Small Business Domain.
MySQL Version:- 4.1.14
phpMyAdmin Version:- 2.11.9.6

The problem I'm facing is that I've a created a database in phpmyadmin and there are two users:- one is the username I created for myself and the other is yroot. I can't grant the username I created all privileges. I get the following error:-

#1044 - Access denied for user 'UserName'@'localhost' to database '%'

The reason why I'm creating a database is to install Wordpress. I've installed WAMP Server in my PC and created a database and successfully installed wordpress. However this is my first try on a domain and Yahoo Support Team hasn't been of any help, I'm hoping I'll find some help here.

Thanks,
RJ

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You have to grant privileges separately to any localhost users. By default there is a rule in the privileges table which denies all privileges to any user at localhost. To grant privileges to localhost users you have to grant them explicitly with "GRANT ... TO `someone`@`localhost`". And don't forget the "FLUSH PRIVILEGES" afterwards.

Thanks Smantscheff for the help. I don't have much experience with phpmyadmin so I really don't know how to implement what you said but I've found this article which I think explains the procedure to implement what you mentioned:-

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/adding-users.html

I'll try to follow this method but if I get stuck somewhere hope you'll help me out.

Install a local copy of Mysql server on your machine and try to solve the problem with the command line client (mysqladmin and mysql). Chances are that you will have a better understanding of privileges afterwards which you can then utilize using phpMyAdmin.