hello again

i have mac computer and i have xcode on it. i am looking for some use full beginners books or tutorials. Right from start i have no previous knowledge of c++. can any one suggests any book for site for beginners which specially deal with g++ and xcode.
thankyou

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

The documentation will be your best bet for learning your particular implementation. For learning C++, you would be wise to stick to books that follow the standard language closely. "Accelerated C++" is a good choice.

Read the Read Me threads at the beginning of this board because they contain a wealth of information about books, compilers and other related resources.

thanks for advice
i tried very basic program with Xcode which is like this

#include "hello5.h"
#include "iostream"
using namespace std;

int main1()
{
cout <<"welcome";
return 0;
}

build is successful but when i "Run" it opens only a blank screen without displaying welcome which i am expecting.
i don't understand where i am going wrong.

You don't need #include "hello5.h" do you?

int main1() should be int main() but as the poster above me stated that particular include file is not necessary. Also, #include "iostream" should be #include <iostream> Quotes are generally used to reference headers that require an absolute path or headers in your project.

now i remove #include"hello5.h" and i change to #include<iostream> still same blank screen. As shawn suggested when i change int main1() to int main()
this error message it giving thats why i changed to to int main1() before to bypass. error message is
Line Location Tool:0: Command /Developer/usr/bin/g++-4.0 failed with exit code 1
Line Location Tool:0: duplicate symbol _main in /Users/harpreetsingh/hello5/build/hello5.build/Release/hello5.build/Objects-normal/i386/hello5.o and /Users/harpreetsingh/hello5/build/hello5.build/Release/hello5.build/Objects-normal/i386/main.o