Hi! I just want to know, how can I open an image file using C in Console mode... Yes... I don't want it to open in MSPaint or anywhere like that. I want to open a 16-color bmp image with VGA Graphics Driver using C in console mode. Actually this is what I want to do exactly. I am new to Graphics using C, and ofcourse creating images using C is a tedious job if the images are complex. So I want to create image outside C using MSPaint, save it in 16 color format (or more if possible), and then open it using C in console mode and further write a program using it as Background!
Please help...

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Which operating system and compiler are you using?

Which operating system and compiler are you using?

Well, I am using Windows Operating system (XP right now), and the compiler I am using is the old and out-dated, the vintage Turbo C/C++ Compiler.
Could I get the help for other compilers too? I guess, the GCC is available for Windows too...

Well in the sense that your old compiler can't generate console programs, but instead it generates DOS programs.

On the plus side, being DOS, you can generate simple low-resolution graphics (which a true Win32 console cannot).

On the downside, you're limiting yourself to lots of DOS specific things, like 640K of memory, 16 bit code, 8.3 filenames, low resolution graphics and so on.

Normally, I suggest getting dev-C++ and downloading the LibSDL graphics package.
http://www.libsdl.org/
http://bloodshed.net/

> On the plus side, being DOS, you can generate simple low-resolution graphics (which a true Win32 console cannot).

Actually, if you get the DC of the console window, you can draw on it like any other. Unfortunately, it is impossible to use a window proc on the console window... so the graphic must be considered volatile...

>>Unfortunately, it is impossible to use a window proc on the console window