I'm pretty new to writting c++ and i made this file to create a random x and y coordinate and place a bitmap image upon it, i made the program save the coordinates to .dat files *or txt i dont really care at this point* now i want a way of reading these coordinates one line at a time (or any way to write a valid x == x_taken function) and applying them to a string called x/y_taken so i can make sure i dont place a bitmap in the same spot twice, heres my code (keep in mind its a sloppy rough draft, and any help would be greatly appreciated):

#include <allegro>
#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>

using namespce std;
//--------------------------------------variables-------------------------------------------
BITMAP *human_upSprite;
BITMAP *human_downSprite; // human bitmaps.
BITMAP *human_leftSprite;
BITMAP *human_rightSprite;	

BITMAP *zombie_downSprite;
BITMAP *zombie_upSprite;  // zombie bitmaps.
BITMAP *zombie_rightSprite;
BITMAP *zombie_leftSprite;

BITMAP *hero_downSprite;
BITMAP *hero_upSprite;  //hero bitmaps.
BITMAP *hero_leftSprite;
BITMAP *hero_rightSprite;
//-----------------------------random coor functions-----------------------------------------
int random_x_unit(x)
{
    rand() % 640 + 1 = x;

ofstream a_file ("x_coor.dat");
    a_file( x, ios::app );
    a_file.close();

return(x)'
};

int random_y_unit(y)
{
    rand() % 420 + 1 = y;

ofstream a_file ("y_coor.dat");
    a_file( y, ios::app );
    a_file.close();

return(y);
};
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
void spawn_human() //try to find a way to make a parameter that calls the function
{                  //x amount of times so you dont have to spam spawn_human().
     int x;
     int y;

string x_taken;  // calls a string that will be used to apply the file to.
     string y_taken;  
     //------------------------------X------------------------------------------------
     random_x_unit(x);

ifstream b_file("x_coor.dat");