Hello again everyone. I've been trying to finish this code that calculates the eigen digit (i.e. 2349 is 2+3+4+9=18=1+8=9. It wont give me a single answer though. And we are supposed to do it through a recursive function. The code looks like this:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int calcDigit1(int,int);
int main(){
int n;
	cout<<"input a number greater than zero:"<<endl;
	cin>>n;
	cout<<"The eigen digit of this numberis:"<<calcDigit1(n,1)<<endl;
}
int calcDigit1(int n,int a){
	if(n<=0)
		return a;
	return calcDigit1(n%10,a+n);
}

I dont understand what is wrong with it, so your help is greatly appreciated. And please keep in mind that i am a complete beginner at this.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

This is the way I would approach it:
Call a function Eigen from main.
Have an array of ints in eigen. Store the first number in array[0], second in array[1] and so on.

For example, with the number 2349, store 2 in array[0], 3 in array[1], 4 in array[2], 9 in array[3]. Then, write a loop to add each element of the array, and store that in a variable eigen_Val. After you do this, call Eigen(eigen_val).

I will work on some code in a few minutes to put up here.

int main()
{
int n;
cout << "input number" << endl;
cin >> n;
Eigen(n);

return 0;
}

void Eigen(int n)
{
int array[];
//dynamically allocate array here, i don't feel like writing the code for that
int var; //holds array size
int length, temp;
temp = n;
length = 0;
if(n < 10)
  {
   cout << "Eigen value is " << n << endl;
   exit(1);
  }
else
  {
    //find the length of n
     while(temp > 1)
     {
     temp = temp/10;
     length += 1; 
     }

for(int i=1; i <= length; i++)
     {
     array[i-1] = n % (10 ^ i);
     }

for(i = 0; i < var; i++)
     {
          n+=array[i];
     }
  }
free(array);
Eigen(n);
}

ok it gives me an answer now, however, the answer is always whatever was inputed to n.
Basically, i put it n as 2349, it gives back 2349, if n=23, then the answer comes as 23.