Hi I'm just a newbie here and I hope someone might be so kind to help me with my stuff. I have a project regarding C. I'm already half-way done and all that are left to do are:

1. Parse a string into words and arrange these words in descending order according to their frequency/number of occurrence [all words are converted to lowercase].
2. If two different words have the same count of frequency, they must be ordered alphabetically.
3. Words are all case INsensitive and are all made of English alphabet.
4.Print the results in the form of ("word", "frequency count").
5. Also, write the results in a file and save it.

I already know how to do some of them but my problem is that I can't find a way in incorporating nodes and linked lists in the process. I am really trying to understand all the sample codes here in the forum.

The base string is suppose to be coming from an uploaded .txt file from the user. And I am already done with its code.

I am really desperate in solving this problem. :S

So if someone there might be so helpful to give some hints, tips, links or might as well the code itself, I would really appreciate it. Sorry I really don't have the time to browse all the posts here, because my deadline for this project is really coming. I am out of sleep for days.

Thanks in advance sirs/ma'ams!
-A Computer Eng'g Freshman

Recommended Answers

All 48 Replies

I'm affraid i cant help you with alot of that as i'm not an expert at C but i did recently do some work involving reading from files and i found this website helpfull.

http://www.mrx.net/c/readfunctions.html

This link might help you with the string functions you are after.

http://www.cs.cf.ac.uk/Dave/C/node19.html

I'm already done with the file reading/writing. But gee thanks for the quick response. Thanks! =)

Just to give some basic ideas, you might do with the following simple setup, without linked lists involved at all.
Use a structure like e.g.

typedef struct 
{