I am interested in changing my major in college and also making a career switch, I would like some advice if anyone can provide it, I'm not super smart nor do i know too much about computers but i work with them as an AutoCAD Tech for an engineering firm in Naples, Florida. I was hoping someone could give me a rundown about the different types of skills i would have to learn in order to become a computer programmer so that i can start to make a switch in career paths. I have 4 years experience as a cad tech, and i am very interested in learning these programming languages and become a programmer, can someone please let me know where i can find tutorials and stuff, thanks everyone.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi there, welcome to DaniWeb! if you are interested in web development I would recommend this great tutorial site:

http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp

I would recommend you start with the HTML section.

If you are interested in software development I suggest you pick a language that appeals to you most (I like C# a lot and Java) and purchase a "head first" book for the chosen language. Its hard to say which is the easiest to learn as it varies from person to person but I found c# easiest to pick up myself.

http://www.oreilly.com/store/series/headfirst.csp

I have not looked at this particular book in the series before (so I cannot comment on it) but the HF series are all very good (the ones I have read) and this book may be a good place to start:

http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/9780596514181/

Hope this helps and good luck!

Coming from someone who deal a lot with computers but has never dealt with programming. If you find yourself wanting to go home and play with a language, then CS might be for you. But a lot of the CS programming deals with programming and if you don't find programming like a hobbie, then it won't be for you. I started out learning Python.