Is it possible to print anything on screen in C or C++ without using main().If yes please explain how?

main() is the start of any C++ application, why do you need to do it without it ?

In one of the programming competetions in my college we were asked to do this.
Although none was successful

Because it's a frequent teaser question which some tutors think are useful in some way.
Like for example printing without using a ; or making the program print it's source code or some other dumb trick.

>>Is it possible to print anything on screen in C or C++ without using main().

Yes -- write a MS-Windows win32 api program which uses WinMain() instead of main(). Or use VC++ 2008 and it will generate a console program that starts with _tmain().

Thanks very much for your reply.But please I need some more help or atleast some hints as I dont know how to create a MS-Windows win32 api program which uses WinMain() instead of main(). I am new at programming . So please help

>So please help
Try searching for WinMain on www.google.com. Seriously, it's not that hard to do a little bit of research and come up with something. We tend not to take kindly to willfully clueless people.

Every ISO standard C/C++ program must have a main(). Windows, other graphic environments, and many embedded systems have a non-standard environment and may not need a main().

So, the answer is: in ISO Standard C/C++, you cannot print anything without having a main() function. If you are talking about a non-standard environment, then the answer is it depends on the environment.

>So, the answer is: in ISO Standard C/C++, you cannot
>print anything without having a main() function.
Unless you're on a freestanding implementation.