Hello, all,
I am pretty new to C++ and I need to write a program for calculating radio propagation path loss based on ray tracing, C++ is used for its faster processing rather than MATLAB. I have a question about passing 2D arrays between functions.
One of the files looks something like this:

/*this file gets the map information, the map is a 3D vector database which 
contains the coordinates of all the corners of the buildings(because the 
actual dataset is not available now, so only a text file made up by my own is 
used for testing). */

#include "mapInfo.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <vector>
using namespace std;

MapInfo::MapInfo()
{
}

//this function read the map in uda format and returns a 2D array contains building infomation.
//in form of: [building_number][no_of_corners x y.....wall_thickness bld_type]
std::vector<std::vector<double> > MapInfo::getMapInfo()
{
	char str[100];
	char name[80];
	int max_corner_no = 10;
	int building_number;
	int corner_number;
	int index;
	char *tokenPtr;	

cout << "Enter file name:";
	cin.getline(name,79);
	ifstream dataFile(name,ios::in);
	if(!dataFile)
	{
		cerr << "File could not be opened\n";
		exit(1);
	}

// skip the first 5 lines 
	for (int i=0; i<5;i++)
	{
		dataFile.getline(str,99);
	}

//get the number of buildings from the 6th line
	no_of_blds = atoi(&str[0]);

std::vector<std::vector<double> > bld_info(no_of_blds,std::vector<double>(max_corner_no*2+3));
	/*bld_info = new double *[no_of_blds];
	for (int i=0; i<=no_of_blds-1; i++)
		bld_info[i]=new double[max_corner_no*2+3];  //*2 because we need x and y coordinates, rest 3 for number
													//of corners, wall thickness and building type respectively.*/

// now get the data
	while(!dataFile.eof())
	{
		index=1;

// get the building coordinates
		tokenPtr = strtok(str," ");
		//get the building number first
		building_number = atoi(tokenPtr);
		tokenPtr = strtok(NULL," ");
		//now get the number of corners of this building