I need some help figuring out how to remove duplicates from an array. I've been working on this for a few days now, and every time I think I'm getting close, it just causes my program to shut down.

I've gt a text file with city names in it and mileage distances between the cities. But the cities are listed more than once. So out of 4 cities, I currently have an array with 12 elements. I need to remove the duplicates.

I'm not asking for someone to write the code for me... Just a little help on how to go about ignoring/removing the duplicates, so that I can end up with an array of just 4 unique city names. I'm still pretty new at this, sorry if this is a really basic question.

Thanks a lot, for any help!

-Charles...

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

The easiest was is not to put the duplicates in the array in the first place. When you read a city name from the file check to see if the name is already in the array. If not, then add it.

I've tried doing that, and it seems that each time I do that it doesn't grab everything. Maybe because they are listed like this:

city1 city2 mileage
city1 city2 mileage
etc...etc.

I've made some progress with it since posting. I've managed to sort the array so that I could try to compare one elsment to the next. But, when I try to remove the duplicates it still causes the program to crash... Here's what I've done so far... (forgive me if this code looks really pathetic...:) )

-------------------------------------

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <stdlib.h>

using namespace std;

void readFile1(ifstream &dataFile, string &city1Grab,  string &city2Grab, int &distanceGrab, int &i);
void display1(string city1[], int distance[][6], int i, int j);
string center(int width,string str1);

void sortArray();
void deleteDuplicates();

const int numCities=12;

const char NumberOfCities = 12;
const char firstElement = 0;
const char lastElement = NumberOfCities -1;