Hi,

I'm learning C++ programming and have to write a program that shows how to calculate tax rates for a business tha th as shops in 3 different cities with three different tax rates, using the printf function. Anyhelp I can get is appreciated. Keep in mind I am just learning programming for the 1st time. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

show us what you have done and where you are get your problem and you will get some help

Hi,

I'm learning C++ programming and have to write a program that shows how to calculate tax rates for a business tha th as shops in 3 different cities with three different tax rates, using the printf function. Anyhelp I can get is appreciated. Keep in mind I am just learning programming for the 1st time. Thanks in advance.

Have you used functions yet? I'd start out by deciding what the input and output will be (i.e. do you read from an input file? Does the user enter data? How should the data be outputted to the screen?) Write the input and output functions and get them to work. I don't know what you mean by "calculate tax rates". Do you mean "calculate taxes FROM tax rates"? Also, you can use printf in C++, but generally people use cout. printf is normally used in C. Any reason you are using it instead of cout?

Iput your code so far and what it says error wise if it doesnt compile , so we can see where you have gone wrong and point you the right way.
I have a similar program but , would like to see what you have done?

Here's what I have so far

#include <stdlib.h> 
#include <stdio.h>
int main()
{
/*Some food items and all non-food items are subject to a statewide sales tax and local*/ 
/*district taxes.  Due to differences in district taxes, each store uses a different tax rate*/
      int iSelection=0;
      float fTransAmount = 125.00;
      float fTotalSale = 0.00;     
      char str_DelMar[] = "Del Mar", str_Encinitas[] = "Encinitas", str_LaJolla[] = "La Jolla"; 
      /*The above is the three districts*/