Hi, beginner here making the move from Java to C++ and having troubles (of course) with const and pass-by-reference. I'll show you the code I'm working on:

Card.h:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class Card 
{
	friend ostream& operator<<(ostream& out, const Card& c);

public:
		Card(char aSuit, int aPower);
		void setSuit(char newSuit);
		void setPower(int newPower);
		const char getSuit();

private:
		char suit;
		int power;
};

Card.cpp:

#include <iostream>
#include "Card.h"

using namespace std;

Card::Card(char aSuit, int aPower) 
{
	suit = aSuit;
	power = aPower;
}

void Card::setPower(int newPower)
{
	power = newPower;
}

void Card::setSuit(char newSuit)
{
	suit = newSuit;
}

const char Card::getSuit()
{
	return suit;
}

ostream& operator<<(ostream& out, const Card& c)
{
	out << c.getSuit();
	return out;
}

The implementation of the << operator overloading in the .cpp file seems to be an issue. This is my error message:

"card.cpp(29) : error C2662: 'Card::getSuit' : cannot convert 'this' pointer from 'const Card' to 'Card &' Conversion loses qualifiers"

I'm stumped as to what the problem is, since I declared getSuit() to be const and it should be usable in the operator overloading section of the .cpp file. Am I trying to call the function wrong?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Thank you for using Code-tags!

If your not changing the any of the values in the Class (card) c, why would you want to pass by reference?
To make it easier for yourself, how about:

ostream& operator<<(ostream& out, Card c)
{
	out << c.getSuit();
	return out;
}
[.....]
int main()
{
	Card d('a',1);
	cout << d;
[...]

Output would be 'a' if I'm not mistaken (I'm on the wrong PC, don't have a compiler).
Of course you would have to change the declaration as well