In the main function below I am trying to pass two array parameters to a friend function which will return the month object back to the main function with the monthly updated weatherreport details. I am studying and this is my first year doing any sort of coding so please just be constructive :?:

class weatherReport
{
public:
    weatherReport();//default constructor
    ~weatherReport();//destructor Returns all the dynamic memory used by the
    //object to free store
    friend istream& operator>> (istream& fin, weatherReport dailyP[]);
    friend ostream& operator<< (ostream& fout, weatherReport monthlyP);
    int get_dayOfMonth() const;
    int get_highTemp() const;
    int get_lowTemp() const;
    int get_amountRain() const;
    int get_amountSnow() const;
    void set_dayOfMonth(int day);
    void set_highTemp(int hTemp);
    void set_lowTemp(int lTemp);
    void set_amountRain(int rain);
    void set_amountSnow(int snow);
    friend weatherReport monthEnd(weatherReport daily[], weatherReport monthly);
private:
    int dayOfMonth;
    int highTemp;
    int lowTemp;
    int amountRain;
    int amountSnow;
};

int main()
{
    weatherReport daily[30], monthly;
    int i;
    ifstream in_stream;

in_stream.open("weatherData.dat");
    if (in_stream.fail())
    { 
        cout << "Input data file failed to open" << endl;
        return 0;
    }

in_stream >> daily;

in_stream.close();
    for (int i = 0; i<MAX_SIZE-1; i++)
    {
        monthEnd(&daily[i], monthly);
    }
        return 0;

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Please use [[B][/B]code[B][/B]] tags.

You've declared the monthEnd() function as existing, but you don't appear to have defined it anywhere. If you prototype a function somewhere, there should be a corresponding function elsewhere.

When you compile, make sure to turn as many warning messages on as you can. The compiler should complain about missing functions.

Hope this helps.

Duoas,