Hey,
I'm pretty new to Java and I was hoping someone could help me out. I wanted to know how to store the information that a loop shows. I've been asked to create a project which adds up the squares of the numbers from a to c, and this is my code so far.
Class 1:

public class sumSquares {

public sumSquares(int a, int c)
		{	while (a<=c)
		{	u=(a*a);
			a=a+1;
			System.out.println(u);
		}

}

private int u;
	}

Class 2:

public class sumSquaresTester {
	public static void main(String[] args){
	sumSquares sum=new sumSquares(1,5);
	System.out.println(sum);
	}
}

I am able to get the squares that i need from the variable u, but how do i store the values i get after each cycle of the loop? Thanks in advance for the help.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Just let the attribute "u" be an int array of size (c-a),
And in your constructor instead of after displaying the values just store the squares as
below:-

public sumSquares(int a, int c){
    // Since we need the squares of c and a also
    u=new int[c-a+1]
    while (a<=c) {
      u[u.length-(c-a+1)]=(a*a);
      a=a+1;
      System.out.println(u[u.length-(c-a+1)]);
    }
  }
  private int[] u;
}
commented: At least take the time to ensure your code works when you post an example. -2