Guys,
Im not very experienced in C++. I was practicing problems from topcoder to improve my knowledge in C++. I've posted the code i used for solving a problem statement given by topcoder website. The compiler tells that there is a linking error with this code and hence its not compiling properly. Plz help me out.

#include<iostream.h>
#include<string.h>
using namespace std;

class HowEasy
{
	public:
		string statement;
                int flag,letterCount,wordCount;
                int pointVal (string);
};

int pointVal (string s)
{
    int len = s.length();
    int avgCount,flag=0,i,wordCount=0,letterCountMain=0,letterCountTemp=0;
    for(i=0; i<len ;i++)
    {
        //if((int(s[i]>=65) && int(s[i]<=90)) || int((s[i]>=97) && int(s[i]<=122)))
        if(((s[i]>=65)&&(s[i]<=90))||((s[i]>=97)&&(s[i]<=122)))
        {
            if(flag==0)
            {
                letterCountTemp+=1;
            }
        }
        else
        {
            flag=1;
            letterCountTemp=0;
        }
        if(s[i]==' ')
        {
            if(flag==0)
            {
                letterCountMain+=letterCountTemp;
                wordCount+=1;
            }
            flag=0;
        }
        if(s[i]=='.')
        {
            if(flag==0 && s[i+1]!='.')
            {
                letterCountMain+=letterCountTemp;
                wordCount+=1;
            }
            flag=0;
        }
    }
    cout << "The no of letters in the problem statement is displayed below: " << letterCountMain << endl;
    cout << "The no of words in the problem statement is displayed below: " << wordCount << endl;
    avgCount = letterCountMain/wordCount;
    cout << "The avg letter count in the problem statement is displayed below: " << avgCount << endl << endl;
    if(avgCount<=3)
    {
        return 250;
    }
    else if((avgCount==4)||(avgCount==5))
    {
        return 500;
    }
    else if(avgCount>6)
    {
        return 1000;
    }
}

int main()
{
    HowEasy class1;