Hi everyone, I'm new and hope someone can help with my problem. First of all English is not my first languaje so I hope you all can be a little patient with my writing :icon_cheesygrin:

Here's the thing. I'm new to C++, and I'm using Borland 3.1 (this is the teacher's choice so I prefer to work with this compiler, because I will have to use it for the tests), and I simply haven't been able to work with Strings. I have tried these 3 "includes" (I don't really know how they are called :?: ),

#include <string> The compiler gives me an error when I use this one
#include <string.h> No problem when compiling
#include <CString> No problem when compiling

But when I put

string q; or
CString q;

The compiler gives me this 2 errors:

"Undefined symbol 'string' (or 'CString' depending of which one I'm using)" and
"Statement misssing ;"

Any idea? :(

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Try using the fully qualified name to make sure you've made the namespace visible for the <string> header:

std::string q;

what compiler and os are you using? Are you trying to compile a C file with *.c extension?

The only CString class I know of is in Microsoft's MFC library.

Sorry I didn't put the code between the [code] [/code] thing, I am really in a hurry with this thing and didn't pay attention. I tried to fix my last post but couldn't find an "edit" button :S

I tried what you said, and It gives me this error: "Typer qualifier 'std' must be a struct or class name"

I don't know if this error is related with the fact that I am not using the line

using namespace std;

This is because this instruction gave me this error : "Declaration syntax error" . I read that this line was necessary for the instruction "cout" to work, but I eliminated it, and I can use the "cout" without a problem.

what compiler and os are you using? Are you trying to compile a C file with *.c extension?

The only CString class I know of is in Microsoft's MFC library.

I'm using Windows XP and Borland 3.1.