Hi I need help to draw a circle using c++. I have never used any programming before and have to do computer science to become a Maths Teacher. My first task is to write a program to draw a circle with the user inputing two x,y coordinates and the centre coordinate as well as the diameter. Then draw the cirlce and calculate distance from the two coordinates, circumference and volume of the sphere. Doing this by correspondence and can't get an answer from the lecturer. Sorry if this is really basic.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Tyra,

Folks at this site are more than happy to help. Having said that I have to tell you that they expect an attempt at coding, no matter how basic before they will help.

This seems cool. :)

I'm interested about this as well. I have absolutely no clue where to even start to approach this task, but I'll do some looking around, maybe learn something in the process. :P

Edit: Found something in google:

Circle Interface (Circle.h)

class Circle: public Shape {

public:
   Circle(int newx, int newy, int newradius);
   int getRadius();
   void setRadius(int newradius);
   void draw();

private:
   int radius;
};

Circle Implementation (Circle.cpp)

#include "Shape.h"
#include "Circle.h"
#include <iostream.h>

// constructor
Circle::Circle(int newx, int newy, int newradius): Shape(newx, newy) {
   setRadius(newradius);
}

// accessors for the radius
int Circle::getRadius() { return radius; }
void Circle::setRadius(int newradius) { radius = newradius; }

// draw the circle
void Circle::draw() {
  cout << "Drawing a Circle at:(" << getX() << "," << getY() <<
      "), radius " << getRadius() << endl;
}

Hope this helps you out, although I would like an experienced user come explain this code a little bit for us newbies. :)

The above code is a c++ class for a circle. The first part is the header. The functions and data members are declared here in a public or private area of the class declaration.