Hey, all!

I'm new here, and needed somewhere to get an answer dealing with Python.

I am working on developing a small bit of code, but I don't know where to start. I'm kinda new to python : (

I am looking to deveolop an Instant messenger sort of thing, just for use between me and a buddy.

I need to know if it's possible to develop a .py program that will connect to the internet to send and recieve information to a server?

I was thinking that if there was a way for python to add text to a html file on the server, then somehow show the html file IN the python screen? But if that's not possible, I have absolutely no idea where to even begin.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
--skate6566

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

First there are many very complete clients for instant messenging, like psi http://psi-im.org/ for example. Within minutes, you can be able to talk to your buddy privately on the internet, so the first question is do you really need to write your own instant messenger in python (knowing that you won't obtain the same quality as existing software without an enormous programming effort).

However, if you want to try, there are many ways for python to connect on the internet. The most basic way is to use socket objects defined in the standard socket module http://docs.python.org/lib/module-socket.html. See the basic examples here http://docs.python.org/lib/socket-example.html.

Connecting to a server using a socket is very easy:

import socket
sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM) # create a socket object
sock.connect((HOST, PORT)) # connect to a host like '100.50.200.5' and a port like 9856
# use the socket to send and receive data
sock.close()