Hi All,

I'm extremely new to Python and would like to create a program to help automate some of the things I do at work. I need to take information from an IDX shell and create a word document with it. Does this sound possible? Would anyone be interested in switching to E-mail and helping me figure this out? I'd have to start from scratch, but I learn fast.

Any help would be appreciate.

Thanks,
Ryan

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

Why not do it on the forum so all of us can learn?

It's a good idea, for example I don't know what an IDX shell is

I'd be more than happy to do it here, I just want to make sure it is easy for someone to help me.

IDX (aka Reflections) is a telnet application we use to access a db of patient names, demographics, appointment history, and schedules.

I work in a medical records department where we print information from the shell, then manually create labels for the charts and other specific paperwork. I would like very much to streamline as much of this process as possible and figure the labels would be a good start to get to know the python language, then try to tackle other parts of the process.

Also, IDX supports Visual Basic Macros. I don't know if these can be initiated from outside the shell or if I will have to create and run macros from inside IDX and maybe print lists to files, then use Python to move data around? Sorry to be such a noob, but I really don't know what I'm doing.

I suppose that the information which you print could easily be sent to a file instead of the printer ? I think it would be a good idea to show us an exemple of this printed information and also of the information that you create manually from this.

Hello Again,

Sorry it took so long to get back, I had to discuss the options for printing to a file with our I.T. Department. I finally managed to find a way to generate a text document with the information I need.