Hi
I am new to python programming and I am trying to embed some python calls into my C++ program. I made a simple module called 'test.py' which has the following lines :

//---------test.py------------------
message = 'The meaning of life...'

def transform (input):
input = input.replace ('life', 'Python..');
return input.upper()
//--------------------------------------
In c++,
{
Py_Initialize ();
PyRun_SimpleString ("import test");
PyRun_SimpleString ("print test.transform ('life')");
}
//------------------------------------------

When I run this program, I get an error :

'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: No module named test
NameError: name 'test' is not defined

Can someone help me out with this? The code works if I go into IDLE and type >>> import test.
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

**** If it is important, I downloaded and installed python 2.5.2 and I am using it on openSuse 10.2

From the documentation of Py_Initialize(), I think it would be a good idea to try

Py_SetProgramName("path to the python executable");

before the call to Py_Initialize. Also check that your python 2.5.2 library contains a file site.py.

The library does have a file called site.py. Can you tell me why it is important?

Also after using Py_SetProgramName, I am now getting the error :
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute

Some progress I guess.

Note that the code in the body of the function transform should be indented. Also, I think it's quite a challenge to begin with python from it's C API. You should experiment with pure python code too :)

Here is the documentation of the site module if you want to understand it's role. However, it's not really important as long as python doesn't complain anymore http://www.python.org/doc/2.5.2/lib/module-site.html.