Hi all,

I am a Python Newbie and started learning it with this book "Programming in Python 3", which has a lot of sample codes.
So I am using Python 3 and got stuck while trying this program.The program is to swap the elements in the Tuple and how to do it by using a function object.Sorted method is also used to sort the result.

def swap(t):
    return t[1],t[0]

x=zip((1,3,1,3),("param","dorie","kayak","canoe"))

y=sorted(x,key=swap)
print('y=',y)

z=sorted(x)
print('z=',z)

l=sorted(x,key=swap)
print('l=',l)

While executing this program Python 3 gives an empty list for 'z' and 'l'.So i tried executing this program using Python 2.6 and got a different result which I assume is correct.These are the outputs

----------Python 3----------

C:\Python30\ExPython>c:\Python30\python.exe ExPFI.py
y= [(3, 'canoe'), (3, 'dorie'), (1, 'kayak'), (1, 'param')]
z= []
l= []

----------Python2.6----------

C:\Python30\ExPython>c:\Python26\python.exe ExPFI.py
('y=', [(3, 'canoe'), (3, 'dorie'), (1, 'kayak'), (1, 'param')])
('z=', [(1, 'kayak'), (1, 'param'), (3, 'canoe'), (3, 'dorie')])
('l=', [(3, 'canoe'), (3, 'dorie'), (1, 'kayak'), (1, 'param')])

Can you please help me by explaining ,why 'z' and 'l' is getting the empty strings while running program with Python 3.

Thanks in Advance

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

In Python 3.0 the built-in method zip() contains an iterable instead of a list (much like the new range() function)... meaning that after the first sorted() call, the internal pointer of the zip object is pointed at the END position of the object.

I don't think it's possible to "reset" the iterator without simply re-zipping the two lists....
HTH

Or, convert the zip to a list.

def swap(t):
    return t[1],t[0]

x=zip((1,3,1,3),("param","dorie","kayak","canoe"))

w=list(x)
print("w=", w)

y=sorted(w,key=swap)
print('y=',y)

z=sorted(w)
print('z=',z)

l=sorted(w,key=swap)
print('l=',l)