This is my first post, and I'm VERY new to C++, but I just finished my first class, and upon requesting the final, I was told to re-do one of my programs, because instead of computing the values, I just displayed them. (It never said I needed to.) Now that I re-did it, it dosent seem to be working, and displays a '0' in the 'celsius column. (My program computes and displays a chart of Fahrenheit and Celsius temperatures. Perhaps you can see an error that I don't? (Also, please use the simplest terms possible, I'm really new to this.)

/* File: celFar.cpp
*  -------------------
*  This file computes and displays the table of 
*  farenheit and celsius temperatures 0-200.
*/

#include <stdio.h>
#include "genlib.h"
#include "simpio.h"
#include <math.h>
#include "strlib.h"

int main()
{

double num1,num2,num3,num4,num5,num6,num7,num8,num9,num10,num11

;num1=((5/9)*(0-32))
		;num2=((5/9)*(20-32))
		;num3=((5/9)*(40-32))
		;num4=((5/9)*(60-32))
		;num5=((5/9)*(80-32))
		;num6=((5/9)*(100-32))
		;num7=((5/9)*(120-32))
		;num8=((5/9)*(140-32))
		;num9=((5/9)*(160-32))
		;num10=((5/9)*(180-32))
		;num11=((5/9)*(200-32))

;printf("Farenheit	Celsius\n0		%.1g	\n20		%.1g	\n40		%.1g	\n60		%.1g	\n80		%.1g	\n100		%.1g	\n120		%.1g	\n140		%.1g	\n160		%.1g	\n180		%.1g	\n200		%.1g	\n",num1,num2,num3,num4,num5,num6,num7,num8,num9,num10,num11)

;}

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I am sorry but I laughed! However, we all begin somewhere. I can't say my early stuff was any good. [having said that I am not sure what I write today is that good.]

First off: the ; (semi-colon) is a statement end. It doesn't actually
matter were you put it, but it is extremely usual to put it at the end of the line. eg.
num1=(5/9)*32;
The white space (spaces and newline) don't matter.

So I am assuming that you haven't looked at any kind loops yet, or this program would score rather lowly.