Hello, I'm still a C beginner. I am trying to make a simple code for searching a string in a doc file.

I want to search for a name in the "Employee Database", and display the employee data no,name,desgnation,reg no.,Projects worked.

The template in the file is as follows:

Employee xx
  Name : SOME_NAME
  Designation : SOME_DES
  Employee no. : xx
  No. of projects worked : xx

where x is integers.

I have a problem fetching things from the buffer array. I get some long output of this form : ||[[-]||| ....etc.,

Here is my code:

void searchf()
{
	char S[500],I[500],B[500][50],T[500],K[500][5];
	int e=0,flag=0,i,l,v=0;
	FILE *j;
	printf("\n\nIn which file do you want a name to be searched?\nEnter the complete address below\n\n");
		scanf("%s",I);
		j=fopen(I,"r");

if(j == NULL)
		{
			printf("ERROR : File not found. Try again later\n");
			getch();
			exit(1);
		}
	printf("Input name of employee to be found\n");
	scanf("%s",S);
	strcpy(T,"  Name : ");
	strcat(T,S);
	strcat(T,"\n");

while(fgets(B[e],100,j)!=NULL)
		{
			if(strcmp(T,B[e])==0)
			{
				strcpy(K[0],B[e-1]);
				strcpy(K[1],B[e]);
				strcpy(K[2],B[e+1]);
				strcpy(K[3],B[e+2]);
				strcpy(K[4],B[e+3]);
				flag=1;
				goto end;
			}
			e++;
		}

fclose(j);

end:
	if(flag==0)
		printf("Employee not found!");
	else
		printf("Employee found in database.\nEmployee details:\n %s%s%s%s%s",K[0],K[1],K[2],K[3],K[4]);
}

Please help me. Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

1. You never compare Name : Rose with fgets'ed line because fgets appends '\n' to a line, so it looks like Name : Rose\n . Solution: use strstr instead strcmp:

if (strstr(T,B[e])) { /* T found */
} ...

2. You are trying to copy FUTURE lines: you don't get them yet:

strcpy(K[0],B[e-1]);
strcpy(K[1],B[e]); /* current line*/
strcpy(K[2],B[e+1]); /* you will get it on the next loop! */
strcpy(K[3],B[e+2]); /* no such line here and now */
strcpy(K[4],B[e+3]); /* - * - * - * - */