Hi,
I am kinda new to java netbeans...i have downloaded some java code which is n implementation of the algorithms in the book AI:A Modern Approach.

After extraction, the folder has bin, build, doc and src folders which hold various .class and .java files.

Now my problem is that i want to access these classes in another netbeans project. I tried using the template "project with exisiting sources", but i ended up with an "incorrect package" error all over.

Plss help....

Suvir

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

If you also have a .jar file of the classes in that download, you can just add it as a library to your project (from Project Properties window). The same would work for the folder containing the class files themselves.

Thats what doesnt seem to be happening.I added the *.class files' folder in the project properties.It returns an "incorrect package" error...what could be the possible reason...

There is a second possibility that suvirj uses a book that from chapter section to another chapter section change code little and he would like to keep original code, but on other hand he also want to apply changes as suggested in new exercises.
In this case create new project as the book ask you, then in Windows Explorer go to location of your original/previous project, copy files from src (source) folder to src folder of your newly created project directory.
In doing so you will have copy of previous exercise and you can continue with new one.

PS: You just posted reply, but this still does not make sense. Can you clarify issue with consideration of what I wrote above?

I am only trying to add the files that i downloaded into a blank project in NB.
Step 1) I created a new project in NB
Step 2) I right clicked project name->project properties->Libraries, and i added the directory which contains the class files.