Member Avatar for Boyet728

I am very new to programming and I have an assignment, but I am not asking for the solution. I just want to understand what is being asked. Our instructor presented two codes using a break and continue statement. He stated that both methods are bad programming practices. Which I think I know the answer to that but what he wants us to do is redo the code or improve it. Here id the code

public class Break
{
      public staic void main( String args[] )
      {
            int count;

for (count = 1; count <= 10; count++ )
            {
                   if (count == 5 )
                   break;

System.out.print( "%d ", count );
            }
            System.out.printf(c"\nBroke out of loop at number: %d\n", count );
}
}

How can you improve this? The only thing I can think of is the variable was declared a value inside the for loop, and if the variable changes it can create an infinite loop. So my solution was to declare the variable as a static variable to create a value that could never be changed and could not create an infinite loop. Was that the one being asked?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

It's pretty easy; make full use of the conditional expression which gets tested before the body of the loop is executed. When the given condition is reached or encountered within the loop body, set a boolean flag and test the same in your loop conditional.

for(int i = 0; i < 10; ++i) {
  if(i == 5) {
    break;
  }
}

boolean done = false;
for(int i = 0; i < 10 && !done; ++i) {
  if(i == 5) {
    done = true;
  }
}

Of course you can use anything instead of a boolean but the basic premise of the solution remains the same. Make sure you skip normal execution after setting the flag otherwise the semantics of the solution changes.

Member Avatar for Boyet728