I am a novice in C. I am trying to assign a value from a file to a pointer as below. However I am gettign a seg fault. Can somebody explain ?

int i1;
char *glblclrtab;

for (int i=0; i<20; i++)
{ while ( (i1= fgetc(ipFile))==NULL);
*(glblclrtab+i)= char (i1);
}

The pointer assignment in causing segmentation fault.

PLZ HELP
Thanks in Advance

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

What's glblclrtab pointing to? It'll have a NULL value or a garbage value which is causing segmentation fault. After you make it point to a character array, you can use *(glblclrtab+i)= (char) i1; or glblclrtab[i]= (char) i1; for simplicity.

By the way, use code tags while posting your code.

char *glblclrtab; by itself will not allocate any memory to be use.
malloc() must be invoked to set apart as much memory as needed to hold the data you intend to assigned (point) to it.

Thanks, I had not pionted "glblclrtab". This is just an array to store the color values from file.

char *glblclrtab; by itself will not allocate any memory to be use.
malloc() must be invoked to set apart as much memory as needed to hold the data you intend to assigned (point) to it.

I am using malloc now, however when I read the data back it gives garbage data. Following is the part of the code:

glblclrtab= (char *)malloc(sizeof(3*tmp));

for (int i=0; i<(3*tmp); i++)
{
if (tmp2==3)tmp2=0;
i1=fgetc( ipFile );
if (tmp2==0) {*(glblclrtab + clrcnt) = (char)i1;}
else if (tmp2==1) {*(glblclrtab + tmp +clrcnt) = (char)i1;}
else if (tmp2==2) {*(glblclrtab + 2*tmp + clrcnt)= (char)i1;}

tmp2++;
}
free (glblclrtab);

When I use free as shown above, program dumps backtrace memory range in the end and aborts.

Thanks in advance

Thanks, I had not pionted "glblclrtab". This is just an array to store the color values from file.

You want 'glblclrtab' to be an array, but C compiler have no idea what your intentions are. So allocate memory before storing.