I am new to C++ and attempting to complete an exercise my question is

How you can use cin.ignore to ignore every character up to and including a specified character – for example a full stop, ’.’.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Thank you for your prompt response however, this does not answer my question. I have read previous threads but none of them seem to be quite what I need.

I have written a program but it does not work the way I would like to?

>How you can use cin.ignore to ignore every character
>up to and including a specified character
I'd start by reading my reference manual and seeing that the second argument to ignore is a delimiter.

>I have written a program but it does not work the way I would like to?
Then you're doing it wrong, obviously. Post your code so we can do more than tell you that you're doing it wrong.

If you do cin.ignore(100, 'a'), that ignores the next 100 characters or until you hit the first 'a' character, whichever comes first.

To do what you are trying to do, which is stop at a SPECIFIC CHARACTER, you should do cin.ignore(100, 'SPECIFIC CHARACTER');

100 doesn't really mean anything, it just has to be big enough to make it so that it will always stop at the specific character first.

cin.ignore(this post);

commented: cin.ignore(you) if your not careful +0

Thank you for your comment I have tried your suggestion but it still does not work to ignore a specific char like the fullstop.
Please see my source code below that I have used. I look forward to your reply.

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

string message;

cout << "please enter a message ";
	cin >> message;
	cin.ignore(100,'.'); // to ignore the full stop

cout << message;

return 0;
}