im currently a college student and im studying c++ at the moment. i need to create a multi array for name and password (but it will be from user input) not to mention i cant write to this array until i confirm it doesn't already exist in this array. Im totally confused, i absolutly dont know where to start. i already wrote the program up to this point <main menu/new member> with all cin's and cout's. but the next step is to create this array but yet search in the array before i can save. any help will surfice. i know the rules say post the code but honestly the code i have has no weight on this problem, and i also believe i have to change password to string for the array. please help

btw this is my first post :)

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

i guess i can post what i have even though it is probably in the wrong direction!

this is my declaration:

int arraySearch(const string&,int&,const int[][2]);

this is my started search:

//search array function
int arraySearch(const string& name,int& password,const int secArray[][2])
{
	//declare variable
	char passStrg[10];
	string passwordStrg = "";

//convert password from int to string
	//itoa(password,passStrg,10);
	//passwordStrg = passStrg;
	while((!found)&&(index < 
return index;
}

I doubt you're supposed to search for the password to look for duplicates. The common case is where you refuse to add a user (name) because it already exists.

So a function that took the array and a name to search for that returned where the name was found (or -1 for not found) would meet your needs.

After the user enters a name / password (or maybe even just after the name) you would search for the name and only add the new name if you didn't find it.

The prototype might look something like:

// The first argument should match your array declaration
// The second argument is the number of names already in the array
// The third argument is the name to search for