I am trying to make a program that finds the max and min of more than 2 inputs and i am trying to use the Math.Min and Math.Max method but i cant seem to get them too work since they only accept 2 parameters.

this is what i tried to use

public static int max(int a, int b, int c);
int max = Math.max(a) Math.max(b) Math.max(c);

can anyone help me try to find the max and min of more than 2 values please. thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

You can write a method of your own that, say for example when passed an array of numbers returns the max and the same for min.

I just started programming in Java and i dont think i would know how to program a method to make it detect the min/max in an array. is there any method to just use the Math.min/Math.max for trying to see which one is the largest/smallest from the users input?

Yes, Math.max and Math.min in a loop saving the result through each iteration. Once the loop is done, you have the max and/or min.

I just started programming in Java and i dont think i would know how to program a method to make it detect the min/max in an array. is there any method to just use the Math.min/Math.max for trying to see which one is the largest/smallest from the users input?

Yes you may new to java, but are you new to numbers and Math too ?
I am not against using Math.min/max but that's a lame excuse. Can you not compare two given numbers for equality/greater than/lesser than condition are you new to that too ?

Besides, if you simply want to "take the easy way out", place your numbers in an array (which I assume they are already, anyway), and use Arrays.sort() and then pull the first and last numbers.

;-)

Yes, Math.max and Math.min in a loop saving the result through each iteration. Once the loop is done, you have the max and/or min.

How would i make it in a loop?

for (.....) {
  max = Math.max(max, ...);
  min ....
}

thank you so much. :)

How would i make it in a loop?