Hi,
I'm trying to create a 2-Dimensional box in vpython and fill it with circles placed in random positions but the circles cannot overlap.

This is how far I have got, but I can't work out how to make the positions not overlap. I'm sure most of what I've done is wrong, I'm pretty much a complete beginner.

from visual import * #import libraries
from random import * 
#########################create box
thk = 0.3
side = 4.0
s2 = 2*side - thk
s3 = 2*side + thk
disks_radius = 0.3
maxpos=side-.5*thk-disks_radius
wallR = box (pos=vector( side, 0, 0), length=thk, height=s2, width=0, color = color.red)
wallL = box (pos=vector(-side, 0, 0), length=thk, height=s2, width=0, color = color.blue)
wallB = box (pos=vector(0, -side, 0), length=s3, height=thk, width=0, color = color.green)
wallT = box (pos=vector(0, side, 0), length=s3, height=thk, width=0, color = color.yellow)
##########################################################################################
scene.autoscale = 0 #disable auto zoom
no_particles=30 # choose number of particles
step = 0 # start number of trials
disks_list=[]
for i in range (1, no_particles): # create a list of disks
	disks = sphere(color=color.yellow, radius=disks_radius) # define attributes of the disks
	disks.pos=maxpos*vector(uniform(-1,1),uniform(-1,1)) # randomise disks initial positions
	disks_list.append(disks)
for j in disks_list:                                	#check for collisions with another disk
	if not i == j:				#
		distance=mag([j].pos-[i].pos)		#define distance from otherdisks
	while (distance<2*disks_radius):
		disks.x=disks.x + (random() -0.5) #Regenerate untill disks don't overlap
		disks.y=disks.y + (random() -0.5)

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

My advice, start out simple and make it work, then go more complex.

and remember, the use of functions to divide task eases troubleshooting i.e getting rid of bugs

Be a part of the DaniWeb community