Hello all

I have a problem at hand. I need to work on a C code which will read multiple images in RAW format (greyscale) and do an AND operation of corresponding pixels of all the images. Can someone help out on this? I am a novice and would definitely appreciate any help.

Thanks
J

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

So you have pixels represented as some number of shades of gray. And you want to AND them with something? Why AND? Is this some sort of mask where all ON (black? white?) is a mask to include the pixel and OFF is a mask to not include. In that case you could say:

for each row,
    for each column,
        result = pixel[row][col] & mask[row][col]; // '&' being bitwise-and

but if the mask is not all ON or all OFF bits (0x0 or 0xFF, say) then the resulting pixels will not be a gray scale but some odd shade. Like, if the mask is 0x5A and you mask that with a gray representing 20% gray you get a strange gray.

Its like i will be altering the image at variuos postions (on copies of the original image), and an AND operation is performed so that if it is a 1, then the particular pixel ahs not been altered. THe pixel will take values from 0 to 256 (8bits).

So you have pixels represented as some number of shades of gray. And you want to AND them with something? Why AND? Is this some sort of mask where all ON (black? white?) is a mask to include the pixel and OFF is a mask to not include. In that case you could say:

for each row,
    for each column,
        result = pixel[row][col] & mask[row][col]; // '&' being bitwise-and

but if the mask is not all ON or all OFF bits (0x0 or 0xFF, say) then the resulting pixels will not be a gray scale but some odd shade. Like, if the mask is 0x5A and you mask that with a gray representing 20% gray you get a strange gray.

You could just say....

if (mask_bit == 1)
result = original;
else
resilt = altered_pixel;