Hello everyone,
I am having a problem, I want to transfer the data from a text field which is found in the class "ServerInterface" to a method in another class "Server".

I wanted to transfer data to the method "sendData()" in the class Server when the user enter data in the textfield "txtSendMessage" and click on the button "btnSend" found in ServerInterface.

I am new to Java and Socktet programming, the thing is that I have finally managed to understand socket programming after lots of hard work but my problem is that I am unable to merge my interface with the other class, could you please help me on this please.

I am send the two class as attachment.

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Good morning neutralfox. Wow, that server code really has been cleaned up!
All you need to do in response to the button being clicked is to get the text from the input field and pass it as the parameter to the server's send method. The only problem I see in your code is that the send method is an instance method, and you were trying to invoke it as a class method. ie instead of Server.sendData it should be cs1.sendData.
ps. Maybe a good time to mark the previous thread as "solved"?

Hello, Good Morning to you too. Already marked as solved.

Concerning my new problem, I am unable to send the message to the method sendData() . I have tried your solution i.e cs1.sendData, still not working.

I think the problem is because I have instantiated the cs1 in the main and the button event is not detecting that instance.

public static void main(String args[]) {
        java.awt.EventQueue.invokeLater(new Runnable() {
            public void run() {
                new ServerInterface().setVisible(true);
                Server cs1 = new Server();
                cs1.start();

}
        });
    }

Please give me the solution to pass the data to the sendData() method when the button is clicked.