This is not a homework problem. I am studying binary search trees and trying to understand how the code works. I have the code, it works, but I want to understand it completely.

I have made comments of what I think code does and in the lines that I don't understand or not sure I have placed question marks in the beginning and at the end of comments that I would like someone with knowledge to help me learn it.

I am trying to follow this code by inserting number 2 in sample binary search tree I created in attached excel document. I would like to understand step by step how pointers move and how ultimately new node is inserted. I would like someone to take a look at attached file and below code and better clarify comments and make modifications to excel pointers if I am not reading it correctly.

I know this seems a lot of work, but I really appreciate your help. Please help as much as you can.

class BinarySearchTree
{
    private:
        struct tree_node //Node that contains two pointers and data field
        {
           tree_node* left;  //pointer to the left subtree
           tree_node* right; //pointer to the right subtree
           int data; //data contained in this node 
        };
        tree_node* root; //???Is this creating pointer root to first node????
    public:
        BinarySearchTree()
        {
           root = NULL; //???start with empty binary search tree????
        }

bool isEmpty() const 
		{ 
			return root==NULL; //if root=0 return TRUE, otherwise return false
		}
        void print_inorder(); 
        void inorder(tree_node*); //???recursive function, but I don't understand why we need tree_node*???
        void print_preorder();
        void preorder(tree_node*); //???recursive function, but I don't understand why we need tree_node*???
        void print_postorder();
        void postorder(tree_node*); //???recursive function, but I don't understand why we need tree_node*???
        void insert(int); //function to insert data in BST