I'm modifying a 10-year old open-source utility written in C, even though I'm a PHP programmer, so the whole pointer business for working with strings is giving me a headache. Can anyone advise on why this string conversion snippet is not converting case?

#include <ctype.h>

int set_keysig (s, ks, init)
char s[];
struct KEYSTR *ks;
int init;
{
  int  sf, ok, l, rc;
  char w[81], *c, *r;
  int ktype, add_pitch, root, root_acc;

c = s;
       /* ... omitting irrelevant, working code here ... */

/* this is where the word w is supposed to be extracted from the line of text c* and also converted to lowercase. The word gets extracted correctly in all cases, but it does not get converted to lowercase - each letter in the word is mysteriously remaining in its original case. */
  r = w;
 *r++ = *c++;
 while (*c && (*c != ' ') && (*c != '+') && (*c != '-')) 
      *r++ = tolower(*c++);
 *r ='\0';
 /* the next line is how I'm checking whether the above lines worked */
 if (verbose>=20) printf ("word: <%s>\n", w);
}

More context: I'm now compiling this code using gcc 4.2 in XCode 3.1 on an Intel Mac. This code used to work fine when I previously compiled it years ago using gcc 3 in XCode 2 on either a PowerPC Mac or an Intel Mac.

Any ideas?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

#
/* ... omitting irrelevant, working code here ... */
#

well, gonna be hard to tell whats going on, because that code is definitely not irrelevant, and i can't be sure if it's necessarily working.

specifically, i dont see what 'r' and 'c' are pointing to. is the memory being allocated? for all i know they could be uninitialized pointers. and what is 'verbose'?

This source code is plagued with syntax errors. printf ("word: <%s>\n", w); requires the header file stdio.h

int set_keysig (type s, type ks, type init);

Prototype missing ; and type, where type is any data type like int, float, structure, pointer, etc. char s[x]; length of string needs to be declared.