Hello everyone!
I'm a Java newbie and I'm trying to create an applet that will draw a graph to find the roots of a cubic equation y = ax^3+bx^2+cx+d.
The user has to input the range and the values of a, b, c and d.
I've done the layout but now I don't know to implement the maths.

Can anyone help please?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I've done the layout but now I don't know to implement the maths.

The quick approach which comes to my mind is store a,b,c and d in an array say "coefficients" of size 4 and let the index at which the corresponding value is stored indicate the power of "x".
Ex:-

coefficients[0]=d;
coefficients[1]=c;
coefficients[2]=b;

Now to calculate value of "y" corresponding to the given value of "x" would be as simple as summing up the value of :-

y = coefficients[index] * Math.pow(x,index);

for every element in the coefficients array.

The second approach to calculate the value of "y" which the programmer in me despises is the more mechanical approach as show below:-
Assumptions:- Current value of "x" is in variable "x" and same applies for a,b,c and d.

y = a * x *x *x + b * x * x + c * x + d;

Notes:-
If you wish to try the first approach you may read about arrays here and here.
Here and here are example how to parse through arrays using the "for" loop and "for each" loop respectively.
You can also see that javadocs of the Math class for the pow() method

commented: Nice +29

Finding the roots of a cubic equation isn't trivial. See this wikipedia link and scroll down for a discussion and links to finding roots.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cubic_equation

I personally think that using Newton's Method's and estimating the roots to a very small tolerance would be a better/easier solution than using the formulas which would calculate an EXACT value. The math involved in Newton's Method is much simpler.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton%27s_method

commented: Nice +29

@Vernon