Hey, I'm not a programmer at all, but I'm hoping someone could help me
solve a problem. I've looked all over Google, Ruby forums, and C/C++
forums but havn't found my answer. I'm trying to generate all possible
permutations for 5 digits (1,2,3,4,5), up to and including 6 digits
long, in order from smallest to largest, broken into sets of numbers
with different lengths, including number repeats within the same number
(1112 for example), then filter out any numbers that don't include 1
anywhere. Wow thats a mouthful. Heres an example of what I mean.

1 digit long

2 digits long

and so on to 6 digits. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

The solution to your problem isn't that difficult... well not for someone with some programming experience.

If you are looking to program a solution to this problem the steps that I would take would be the following.

1. Generate a list of numbers from 1 - 999999 because you want a max of 6 digits long

2. Scan through and make a second list numbers that only contain the numbers that you listed

3. Scan through the list that you just generated and group each by number of digits

I don't know what you're thinking about doing for the actual programming, but a simple C/C++ program could do that pretty quick.

Unfortunately, I don't program. I've always wanted to learn how. I was hoping someone could write a simple program, it would be much appreciated! I completely understand that you have better things to do than write programs for random people though. Even if you could give me the name of some commands I could use, I could read a book about those specific things. I started typing out all of the numbers but quickly realized that its ridiculous to. As far as I can tell, its 14070 numbers that fit the description. Thank you very much for the reply, if you could steer me in any direction towards commands or anything of the sort, I would be very greatful. Thanks!