Hi guys. I have been working at this for several hours. I'm still a novice in C++.

The program I need to write is suppose to calculate the day number for a given day represented by three type int values. It also needs a function that returns true if the first date is greater than the second date. If not, it is suppose to swap the dates and perform the necessary calculations in a different function.

So far what I have is:

#include <iostream> 
using namespace std;

int isFirstDateGreaterThanSecond();
int getDayNumber(int day1, int month1, int year1);
int getDaysBetweenDatess(int day, int month, int year, int day2, int month2, int year2);

const int SENTINEL = 1799;

void main()
{
	int year1, month1, day1, year2, month2, day2, numberDays1, numberDays2, day;

cout << "This program finds the day number of a certain date entered by the user, and the number of days between it and another input date given by the user." << endl;
	cout << "Please enter a date between 1800 and 2100 in order of month, day, year. (ex: 6 25 1987) . Enter 1799 in any parameter to exit the program." << endl;
	cin >> month1 >> day1 >> year1;

while(month1 < 1 || month1 > 12 || day1 < 1 || day1 > 31 || year1 < 1800 || year1 > 2100)
	{
	cout << "You have entered an invalid date. Please try again. Enter 1799 to exit the program." << endl;
	cin >> month1 >> day1 >> year1;
	} 

getDayNumber(day1, month1, year1);

cout << day;

cout << "Please enter another date (ex: 2 28 2007)." << endl;
	cin >> month2 >> day2 >> year2;

}

int getDayNumber(int day1, int month1, int year1)
{

int a, y, m, julianDay, day, julianDay2;

a = (14 - month1) / 12;
	y = year1 + 4800 - a;
	m = month1 + 12 * a - 3;

julianDay = day1 + (153 * m + 2) / 5 + y *  365 + y / 4 - y/100 + y/400 - 32045;

}