Below I described a complex polynomial which is a part of my newton method. When I define the complex number [x = new ComplexNumber (0,0)] it only returns 0 or 1. Also I have overriden the basic string format to make it look like a complex number, but it doesn't show. As a beginner I am clueless.

btw I have defined all the methods which are used in the code below and tested them, they all work and the output is like expected.

note: the polynomial is in fractions(part+part...). First I split up the polynomial into a real and an imaginary bit, but then i had problems with defining a complex root.

public static ComplexNumber p(ComplexNumber x){
    	ComplexNumber a = new ComplexNumber(1,0);
    	ComplexNumber b = new ComplexNumber(0,1);
    	ComplexNumber c = new ComplexNumber(2,0);
    	ComplexNumber d = new ComplexNumber(0,3);
    	return ((a.add(b.mul(x))).add((c.add(d))).mul(x.power(6)));
	}

thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

anyone?

You don't specify what is your problem.
And if this doesn't work:

return ((a.add(b.mul(x))).add((c.add(d))).mul(x.power(6)));

there is no way to understand what is wrong.
Better try splitting them and printing the result separately to see where the error is

Try to debug and see the values of the variables.
Or add "System.out.println" at several places in your code.

If you have a big piece of code then explain which part doesn't work and how you have coded that part. Maybe I will understand from your explanation what is the problem.

Try to split the code into small pieces, put them into methods and test them separately.

I did, the above part doesn't work. The complex arithmic operations I defined like below, tested them with println and they work.

ComplexNumber a + compelxNumber b = a.add(b)

You didn't have to PM me the code. I was in the middle of writing this and the error is very obvious and very common.
Let's take these lines:

result.setRe(Math.pow(result.modulus(),n)*Math.cos(n*result.arg()));