Hi there,

Im not very good with coding UIs but having to do one for a program im writing atm....

I have two windows in seperate classes and they both extend JFrame.

From Window A i open Window B from the menu options but when i then want to close Window B, Window A automatically closes as well (as if a System.exit(0) is called)....

How can i set it up so that i can close Window B and keep Window A open?

Cheers,

Logi.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You probably have the default close operation set to EXIT_ON_CLOSE, which will indeed call System.exit(0). You can instead set that to DISPOSE_ON_CLOSE or another option of your choosing with the JFrame.setDefaultCloseOperation(int) method. The available constants are listed there in the API doc.

P.S. Two full-fledged Frames in an application is usually a mistake. Especially when one is opened as a result from the other. Usually that "second" Frame should be a Dialog (i.e. extend JDialog rather than JFrame in the "second" Class).

P.S. Two full-fledged Frames in an application is usually a mistake. Especially when one is opened as a result from the other. Usually that "second" Frame should be a Dialog (i.e. extend JDialog rather than JFrame in the "second" Class).

Very interesting. Why is that?

A Frame is meant to encapsulate an application. Something that is only temporarily open, and especially when it is a part of the same application as the previous frame, it should, more correctly, be a Dialog. A JDialog can contain anything a Frame can, so you don't lose anything. The only thing it doesn't have is the minimise/maximise buttons. And, you also don't need to "be careful" about what default close operation you give, since you don't give it any. But you can still assign a WindowListener to it, in case you do want to do something specific when it closes.

Thanks for that masijade.