fatbob 0 Newbie Poster

Hi all
I am new to programming and python and am having trouble reading particular strings from a text file and writing them out to a separate file.
The file has a large number of lines, has the following format and is interspersed with signature sentences i don't need:

subdoc="Book=2:chapter=1" span="Cum0:dare0">
<word id="1" form="Cum" lemma="cum1" postag="c--------" head="20" relation="AuxC"/>
<word id="2" form="esset" lemma="sum1" postag="v3sisa---" head="1" relation="ADV"/>
<word id="3" form="Caesar" lemma="Caesar1" postag="n-s---mn-" head="2" relation="SBJ"/>

I only need the information relating to form, lemma and postag, the rest i can ignore. The approach i was taking was 1)to remove the unwanted sentences, 2)remove quotation marks and leave whitespace, 3) split the string and return the word at the relevant index. Trouble is i need the information at form+1, lemma+1, postag+1. eg for word id 3 - i need Caesar, Caesar1 and n-s---mn-.

Given that the information changes for every single line in the text file how do i iterate over the file and return the right words?

My code so far:

import re
f=open('caesar.txt','r')
rfformat=open('blank.txt','w')

#1) removes unwanted signature sentences
for line in f:
if re.match("(.*)(f|1)orm(.*)", line):
print >>rfformat, line,
rfformat.close()

#2) removes quotation marks
f=open('blank.txt','r')
quotes=f.read()
noquotes=quotes.replace('"','')
f.close()

rfformat.write(noquotes)
rfformat.close()

#3) removes =
f=open('blank.txt','r')
equals=f.read()
noequals=equals.replace('=',' ')
f.close()

rfformat.write(noequals)
rfformat.close()

#4)list of words i'm interested in:
keywords=

f=open('blank.txt','r').read()
words_list=f.split()
for word in words_list:
if word in keywords:
print words_list.index(word)
print word