Hi folks,

Guess what....I am kind of new to OO programming programming.
However, I have this task to complete in next week and if someone is willing to help, would be much appreciated.

Task: Given input file A, translate the content to produce output file B

File A: Consists of multiple lines of data, whereby each line is of form
X;1.9,2;3,4.3; 5,6

Output file B, should consists of one line per shape and should be formatted as follows.
Shape[TRIANGLE], Points[[[3.0,3.0], [5.0, 8.0], [8.0,4.0]]], Area[9.0]

This should be supporting 4 shape types: Circle, Square, Triangle, Rectangle.

This should demonstrate OO design principle and use Factory design patten and Unit tests.

Note: File A has these cartisean coordinates and is a xxx.dat file;

t: 3,3; 5,8; 7,4
s:-1,-6; -1,-3; 2, -3; -2, -6
c: -4, -3; -2,-1
r:-1,1;4,1; -5; -1,-5

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Make an effort at some part of the problem (say just reading the file would be a start)
http://www.daniweb.com/forums/announcement9-2.html

Don't forget this when posting code
http://www.daniweb.com/forums/announcement9-3.html

Hello Salem,

Forgot to say that so far I have modeled the Shape OO principal and manage to calculate my Area. Also I can read the file too. Where I need real help is in the translation of input and know which input line is associated with which shape. By the way this is not an academic coursework. Iys only for my gaining and would like to see others peoples approaches to this problem. Any help is greatly appreciated....

Baftjar

Post an example input file and the corresponding example output file. The examples you posted don't correspond and therefore don't make any sense to me. You also said that each line in File A translates into something in file B... give a sample of one line from File A, and what the program would produce in File B based on that.