i am a new programmer trying to make a program, which askes the user for a string input and searchs for the string in an array, and prints "Found: ("string") and the position of the string in the array. this is what i have done soo far:

import java.util.Scanner;
public class StringSearch 
{
public static void main(String[] args)
{ 
// Initializing Array 	
String[] nameSearch = {"Reebok", "Nike"};

// Declaring Variables.
String newName;
int Results;

Scanner keyboard = new Scanner(System.in);

//Asking for input.
System.out.print("\nPlease enter in a name: ");
newName = keyboard.nextLine();

// Conditional statement.
Results = nameSearch(nameSearch, newName);

if (Results == -1)
{
System.out.print("\nFound the name " + newName );
}
else if(Results != -1)
{
System.out.print("\nCannot find specified name " + newName);
}

}
public static int nameSearch(String[] names, String name)
{
for (int n = 0; n < names.length; n++)
{
if (names[n].equals(name))
return n;
}

return -1;
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm sorry, but your question is?

Is it producing any exceptions? Are there compiler messages? Or is it producing something you didn't expect, in which case, exactly how does the actual result differ from the expected result?

And, when you post code, use code tags.

I'm sorry, but your question is?

Is it producing any exceptions? Are there compiler messages? Or is it producing something you didn't expect, in which case, exactly how does the actual result differ from the expected result?

And, when you post code, use code tags.

When testing the program, it always returns false even when i enter a string that matches one in the array. i want the program to identify if the input matches any of the strings present in the array, if so it prints that indeed the string is present and also prints its index. if not, it prints that the string is not found.

you can solve it by using StringTokenizer data type it is more easer