I am new at programming and would like someone to assist me as to what I am looking for?

As far as I know I have followed the instructions I found on one of the sites. Can someone please help?
I am using VStudio 2008, creating an MFC application.

I am trying to create a new property sheet based application.
All I have is 1 property page and the property sheet itself.
I have just created this project. Basically it's an empty project.
When I run it through the debugger I get the following error:

First-chance exception at 0x5d0c373e in Temp.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x00435454.

The debugger stops at:

BOOL AFXAPI AfxDeactivateActCtx(DWORD dwFlags, ULONG_PTR ulCookie)
{   
    BOOL rc = pfnDeactivateActCtx != 0 ? pfnDeactivateActCtx(dwFlags, ulCookie) : FALSE;
    return rc;
}

Will someone be nice and help?
Thanks a million.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well, not having '08, I'm stabbing in the dark here, but the primary suspect is pfnDeactivateActCtx. One of the easiest ways to get the "0xC0000005" violation is to access garbage memory. I recommend stepping through where pfnDeactivateActCtx is initialized. I'd bet that it's not happening correctly or not happening at all, and pfnDeactivateActCtx is a garbage address.

If you're still having trouble, I recommend you post the pfnDeactivateActCtx init code, that will tell us more.

Thanks for trying to help me. I have put Traces and I am getting the error after this statement.

BOOL bResult = CPropertySheet::OnInitDialog();

This is the First and only statement I have in the OnInitDialog of my Property Sheet class.

> The debugger stops at:
Work your way back up the call stack, and work your way back through each nested function code.
Examine the variables in each nested function, are they all set correctly for the current moment?

Put a breakpoint at the start of the calling function, re-run the code, then single-step and examine data as you go.