Hi there.

I'm fairly new at using C++ and I have to do program on this summer course I'm doing. Trouble is, despite what I have read through and been taught, I just can't get my head around a few things regarding this program I need to make within three days.

Here's the breif I have:

Write a program that asks the user to input a word, or series of characters. The program should determine the length of the users character string, and count the number of occurrences of each letter. This information should then be output to the screen.
The program should store the user input in an appropriate structure before determining length and counting occurrences of each letter.

And here's the code I've come up with so far:

using namespace std;

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
    string userwd;

cout << "Hello.\nPlease input a word to analyse: ";
    cin >> userwd;
    cout << "Your word is: " << userwd << ".\n";
    int letters;
    count userwd;
    int count[letters];
    system("PAUSE");

return 0;
}

I know it might seem stupid, but I'm not a logical thinker. If there's any help you can offer, it'll be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Dr Stupid

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Length of a string can be found using _____.length(); {Fill the space with the name of the variable}

You can then use a for loop to check every single character inside the string and compare it with one another to see if it repeats. While you are doing this, you need to keep track of which letter you have already checked for. (to avoid repeating the same characters when they appear again).

Basically, I THINK this problem can be solved using a simple for loop. I will edit this post and post my solution when I get the VC++ installed on my computer.