Hello all,

So to start off I'm just starting to learn programming so please excuse a lot of my noob mistakes especially when trying to explain what is going on/wrong.

I've been trying to use a header file in an example program I'm trying to complete but the compiler doesn't recognize the file...in fact it says that no such file or directory exists. I'm using Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition if that makes a difference on how to set anything up.

So I was wondering if anyone could walk me through the process of setting up a header file. Or a link to the same effect so I know that I'm starting the process correctly. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Well, if you've created a new C++ project/solution, there should be a Solution Explorer visible somewhere on the screen. I believe there's a 'File View' which can be toggled. When that is selected you should see a Tree View Control that lists the various file types you can include in a project. Naturally, C++ projects need a *.cpp file. These will be listed under the 'Source' files node. Under the 'Header' files node are the header fies in your project if there are any. If there aren't then Right Clicking on that node will pop up a context menu where you can either navigate to where some *.h file exists that you want to include in your project, or give you the option of adding a new blank file into which you can type header file type info.

Is this making any sense? Have you gotten that far?

If you have something like this...

#include <iostream.h>
#include "MyHeader.h"

...and the compiler error says it can't find "MyHeader.h", then that means the compiler can't find "MyHeader.h". In other words, if its not in the directory its looking, you'll have to add a explicit path to the file, or put it in with the other source files for the project where the compiler wil find it.

Hi, ExMachina.

You have to write this:

#include<header_name.h>