Hy there, I'm a newbie so be patient pls.

I have a small but useful class (let's call it Class1), and another class, more complex (let's call it Class2). I need to use in the Class2 instances of the Class1. I need to declare objects of Class1 both in private and in public section of Class2, and to initialize those objects in the constructor area of Class2, because all functions in the second class will access members of objects of type Class1.
All I get is errors.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Hy there, I'm a newbie so be patient pls.

I have a small but useful class (let's call it Class1), and another class, more complex (let's call it Class2). I need to use in the Class2 instances of the Class1. I need to declare objects of Class1 both in private and in public section of Class2, and to initialize those objects in the constructor area of Class2, because all functions in the second class will access members of objects of type Class1.
All I get is errors.

What are the errors? Where is the code? It could be all sorts of things.

When I made my "Tile" game I ran into the same problem.

I had a class called Tile and it held information for 1 square. Then I had a class called Board and this had a vector of Tiles within it.

The problem that I had was that if I had a constructor in my Board class it would give me an error saying that I cannot declare Tile or something.

Here is my really quick example with CLASS1 being used in CLASS2. I hope this solves any problems.

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <string>

using namespace std;
////////////////////////////////////

class CLASS1
{
	string name;

public:
	CLASS1(string xname);
	string getName();
};

CLASS1::CLASS1(string xname)
{
	name = xname;
}

string CLASS1::getName()
{
	return name;
}

///////////////////////////////////////
class CLASS2
{
	vector<CLASS1> names;

public:

void addName(CLASS1 name);
	CLASS1 getName(int x);
};

void CLASS2::addName(CLASS1 name)
{
	names.push_back(name);
}