Private Sub connect_Click()
Winsock.RemoteHost = ipadd
Winsock.RemotePort = 10101
Winsock.connect
End Sub

I'm pertty sure the problem is on line two the ipadd if thats supposed to be ipadd or if its supposed ot have something else added.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

ok, is ipadd a variable that contains an IP Address or host name?
you could try removing "ipadd" and replacing it with an actual IP or host:

Winsock.RemoteHost = "google.com"
Winsock.connect
End Sub

I'm fairly certain that google will have 10101 (port number) blocked... but I'm pretty sure it will have 80 open ;)

ipadd is an text box that you fill in the ip address and press connect, then it connects. So you don't have just one ip you can connect to (its a direct connect program)

oh, no problem then, try with this:

Winsock.RemoteHost = ipadd.text
Winsock.connect
End Sub

Awww, thx i knew there was a small peice that i couldn't remember lol, im still a newbie to vb, most basic things i'm still trying to catch on to :p

No problemo, If you need any further help, especially with the project your currently undertaking, just let me know. I am working on a project of a very similar nature....

O poo, now it says that the address is in use. Heres the lowdown. The chat program is created to serv OR connect, all in one app. Now it may be a winsock problem i cant see but i dont know. I have to folders with the EXACT same form. I run one and press the host button, then run another enter in the ip "127.0.0.1" and it gives me a runtime error and says "Address in use". Its in the same code that i originaly poisted just on the 4'th line "winsock.Connect".