Hi, I just started learning java, so my skills are quite limited and I have yet to learn many many concepts. Right now, I am trying to create a hangman game(which as you can see is still incomplete). The problem I get is, the word being "mystery" when I guess my first guess with the letter "m" or any other letter, it implements the letter and rewrites "m******", but when I do my second guess, I get,
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-1" java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: 1
at java.lang.String.substring(String.java:1934)
at Hangmangamee$1.actionPerformed(Hangmangamee.java:52)
at javax.swing.Timer.fireActionPerformed(Timer.java:271)
at javax.swing.Timer$DoPostEvent.run(Timer.java:201)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:597)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:174)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:169)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:122)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm not sure what the problem is and why I get this error, but I think it has something to do with my guess22,guess2, etc getting mixed up.
Please help me, as I have tried for far too long to figure this out. Thankyou a ton! xXcode is belowXx

import java.awt.*;
import java.util.*;
import java.awt.geom.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import java.applet.*;
import javax.swing.*; 	//need this for the timer to work.

public class Thehangman extends Applet {

int guess22 = 10;
	int guess3;

public void init() {