Hi guys ,

Im new at pythons . Hope you all can help me out here :
Im trying to write a code which prints the elements from every list as a line . so If my lists are :

l1 =
l2 =
l3 =

the first two line of my output file should look like this :

0000002 a 1
0000003 b 2

I tried it in this way but it didnt work :

def listtofile():
l1 =
l2 =
l3 =

test_file = open('test3.txt', 'w')

for i in range(0,8):
s = l1+ '\t' + l2 + '\t' + l3
test_file.write(s)
test_file.readline()
test_file.close()

>>> listtofile()
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Wing IDE 101 3.2\src\debug\tserver\_sandbox.py", line 1, in <module>
# Used internally for debug sandbox under external interpreter
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Wing IDE 101 3.2\src\debug\tserver\_sandbox.py", line 10, in listtofile
ValueError: I/O operation on closed file
>>>

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

It's a little hard to tell from your code (no tabs) but I'm guessing from the error that you have the test_file.close() line tabbed in the for loop code.

If you think about how a for loops works, it will execute each line of the body one at a time until the end of the loop is hit, then loop back up and do it again. So if you close the file inside the loop, then after the first iteration the file closes so on the second iteration when it attempts to write to the file it sees the file is not open for writing, thus you get the error you see there.

That is the bug causing your current error. Fixing it will raise a new error but I will leave that one for you to solve.

Good luck!

ok I took the close statement out of the for loop now , but now Im getting another error . Is this the bug you meant previously?:-/

File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Wing IDE 101 3.2\src\debug\tserver\_sandbox.py", line 1, in <module>
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Wing IDE 101 3.2\src\debug\tserver\_sandbox.py", line 9, in listtofile
IndexError: list index out of range
>>>